2016 Honorary Homecoming Parade Marshal

William Marcus

William Marcus ’74 retired in 2015 after 40 years in Montana public broadcasting. William began his career in public media as a UM student working part-time at KUFM, before the station affiliated with National Public Radio. He became news director just a few years after graduation, and took over as the director of the Broadcast Media Center at UM in 1995. Four documentaries William produced won regional Emmy Awards, and “Night of the Grizzlies,” which chronicled the infamous fatal bear attacks in Glacier National Park in 1967, remains the most-watched production in MontanaPBS history. William is perhaps best known as the host of “Backroads of Montana,” which highlights Montana’s rural communities and the residents that make them so unique. We are proud to recognize William’s distinguished career and contributions to Montana journalism as he serves as our Honorary Homecoming Parade Marshal.

2015 Honorary Homecoming Parade Marshal

Don Read

Don Read

Don Read is considered by many to be the greatest head football coach in University of Montana history. Don coached the Montana Grizzlies for 10 seasons, a career that culminated with the team’s first-ever Division I-AA National Championship in 1995. That year’s team had an overall record of 13-2 and was a perfect 8-0 in the Big Sky Conference. Wearing UM’s traditional colors of copper, silver and gold, the team beat Marshall 22-20 in Huntington, West Virginia, to capture the title on Dec. 16. Led by quarterback Dave Dickenson, that season’s Walter Payton Award winner, the Griz charged toward the goal line in the game’s final minutes, and kicker Andy Larson clinched the victory with a 25-yard field goal. Don was named 1995 AFCA Coach of the Year, and he closed out his coaching career with an 85-36 record with the Griz. He garnered 10 winning seasons and a 54-22 Big Sky Conference record, and the Grizzlies never lost to the Bobcats under Don’s watch. We are excited and proud to welcome Don back to Missoula as our Honorary Homecoming Parade Marshal this year as we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the 1995 national championship.

Previous Honorary Homecoming Parade Marshals

2014: Sally Mauk
2013: Kim Latrielle
2012: University of Montana's Regents Professors
Hal and Sheila Stearns
 Jim and Nancy Caron
Mick Hanson, Ron Burnell and Charlie Thorne
2008: John and Tracy Engen
2007: Monte Dolack and Mary Beth Percival
2006: Bill and Jo Reynolds
2005: Fred Nelson
2004: Nancy Cooper